Getting a DUI can result in fines, jail time and the loss of your driver’s license. It may also make it more difficult to obtain auto insurance.
However, there are options for North Carolina drivers who need coverage after getting a DUI.
Many insurance companies do not want to insure high-risk drivers. Getting a DUI is likely to place you in the high-risk category which may mean insurance companies will charge you higher rates or refuse to insure you.
However, because North Carolina law requires all drivers to purchase bodily injury and property damage liability coverage, insurance companies may not refuse to write those coverages. Instead, they can place drivers in the reinsurance facility.
Types of coverage you can buy through the reinsurance facility
If you cannot obtain auto insurance on the standard market, you can purchase several types of coverage through the reinsurance facility:
- Up to $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident bodily injury liability coverage
- Up to $50,000 per accident property damage liability coverage
- Up to $1,000,000 per person and accident underinsured motorist coverage for bodily injury liability
- Up to $1,000,000 per person and accident uninsured motorist coverage for bodily injury and $50,000 property damage liability coverage with a $100 deductible
You must purchase at least the minimum amount of coverage North Carolina law requires.
Minimum insurance requirements
To legally own or drive a vehicle in North Carolina, you must purchase a minimum coverage limit of $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident for bodily injury liability. You must also purchase a minimum of $25,000 property damage liability coverage.
The reinsurance facility provides a way for drivers to meet the minimum insurance requirements after receiving a DUI.